Lickmolassy By the Shannon
Lickmolassy By the Shannon was written by local historian, John Joe Conwell, in 1998. Lickmolassy is the name given to the medieval parish situated at the north-westerly end of Lough Derg, the largest of the three lakes on the river Shannon. The parish derives its name from St Molaisses from Devenish Island whose followers established a Christian settlement in this place in the sixth century.
The book traces the origins of the parish landscape from the Ice Age right through to modern times. It gives an account of the Bog Skeleton discovered in Stoneyisland townland in 1929 that has been to be over 5,000 years old. The parish has since been home to hundreds of generations of humans from pre historic man, Celt, Monk, Irish and Norman alike. They have all passed this way and left their mark on this territory nestled between the Kylecrow and Shannon rivers. The 340-page book gives an account of their journey.
Unfortunately the book is sold out but you can find out more by contacting the author at 09097 41342, Mobile 087 2963803, Email: email@example.com. It retails at €15 plus postage and packing.
Softback copy of the book written by John Joe Conwell ' Lickmolassy By the Shannon '.
Return and Refund Policy
No return or exchange.